Petition for Dissolution of a Covenant Marriage Without Children

What is a Petition for Dissolution of a Covenant Marriage Without Children?



Sample of Petition for Dissolution of Covenant Marriage with Children document created with Access Legal

This Petition must be filed with other documents required by the State of Arizona in order to initiate a Dissolution of a Covenant Marriage Without Minor Children (also known as a divorce). Get your free Access Legal account to see what other documents you need to file.

The Basics

Qualifications for filing in Arizona family court: You and/or your spouse must have lived in Arizona for at least the past 90 days, and any minor child involved must have lived in Arizona for at least the past 6 months.

The person who files is called the Petitioner, and will always be referred to as such, even in future actions such as modification and enforcement. As a result, the other person is called the Respondent. As a Respondent in Maricopa County, you have 20 days to file a response the Petitioner or the Petitioner can apply for default judgement.

The Paperwork Prep

You should be prepared to fill out documentation with the following information:

  • Address
  • Job title
  • Date of covenant marriage
  • Information regarding your minor children

The Requirements for Dissolution

If you and your spouse entered into a covenant marriage, you received a specific marriage license. You would have undergone marriage counseling and made additionally vows regarding your marriage. Certain circumstances must exist in order to end a covenant marriage, or become divorced. Circumstances include:

  • One or both parties committed adultery
  • One or both parties abused drugs or alcohol, to such an extent that the marriage became intolerable
  • One party assaulted the petitioner, any children, or other family members
  • Abandonment for one year with refusal to return
  • One party was sentenced to death or imprisoned for a major felony
  • Couple was granted a separation and have been separated for one year
  • Agreed to a divorce

For more information on requirements, read Arizona State Legislature 25-903 here.